Skip the menu

MOE home > Nature and Parks > EBSA home > Background > The scientific committee for identifying EBSAs of Japan

The scientific committee for identifying EBSAs of Japan

In order to select EBSAs within Japan’s national jurisdiction, the scientific committee for identifying EBSAs of Japan was established. This scientific committee was the platform to give practical form to the policies identified in the Marine Biodiversity Conservation Strategy by serving as a venue for discussion. Relevant topics of discussion included consideration of practical methods such as adoption of criteria and principles, and identification of the concrete areas that meet the criteria. Committee members were organized by the following 5 experts possessing broad-ranging knowledge of marine biodiversity. Basically, the committees as well as the provided documents were open to the public, except critical data such as those describing the habitats of endangered species.

The committee members were as follows (in alphabetical order, positions current as of 2013, titles omitted):

  • Hidetaka Takeoka, Director/Prof., Environmental Dynamics Analysis, Center for Marine Environmental Studies, Ehime University
  • Hiroshi Mukai, Special Prof., Field Science Education and Research Center, Kyoto University
  • Kaoru Nakata, Chief Researcher, Research Management Department, Fisheries Research Agency
  • Yasunori Sakurai, Prof., Graduate School of Fisheries Sciences, Hokkaido University
  • Yoshihisa Shirayama, Executive Director, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology (Chair)