Page Top
Link to main body
main body
  • MOE >
  • National Parks of Japan

National Parks of Japan

  1. Hokkaido
  2. Tohoku, North Kanto, Chubu
  3. South Kanto, Chubu, Kinki
  4. Chugoku, Shikoku, Kyushu, Okinawa

Photo:Daisen-Oki National Park

Daisen-Oki National Park

Designation: 1936/02/01

Area: 35,053 ha

This park embraces a mountainous area from Mt. Hiruzen to Mt. Daisen (1,731m), the highest peak in the Chugoku district. The park also features the Oki Archipelago, the Shimane Peninsula and Mt. Sanbe. Mt. Daisen has precipitous cliffs, and Oki Archipelago has bluffs and caves eroded by seawater.

Page Top

Photo:Ashizuri-Uwakai National Park

Ashizuri-Uwakai National Park

Designation: 1972/11/10

Area: 11,166 ha

Hakusan has been regarded as one of the three most sacred mountains in Japan, along with Mt. Fuji and Mt. Tateyama, and has long been the object of religious worship. This park is rich in alpine plants. Many plants have been named after Hakusan. This area is famous as a habitat for black bears and antelopes.

Page Top

Photo:Saikai National Park

Saikai National Park

Designation: 1955/03/16

Area: 24,646 ha

This park consists of more than 400 islands, large and small, including Hirado, the Kujukushima Islands, and the Goto (Five Islands) Archipelago, extending over the northwestern extremity of Kyushu. The Goto Islands have high cliffs, and Fukue Island has rare volcanic formations (aspite-homate, or cinder-cone)

Page Top

Photo:Unzen-Amakusa National Park

Unzen-Amakusa National Park

Designation: 1934/03/16

Area: 28,287 ha

This park is located in the middle of the Shimabara Peninsula, and the islands of Amakusa. The Unzen area lies in the hillside of Mt. Fugen, which is famous for the volcanic activity which occurred in 1990. The Unzen area has many hot springs, and is a summer resort. The Amakusa area has 120 islands, large and small, in the Ariake and Yatsushiro Seas.

Page Top

Photo:Aso-Kuju National Park

Aso-Kuju National Park

Designation: 1934/12/04

Area: 72,678 ha

This mountainous park has many volcanoes and the world's largest caldera basin, whose circumference is about 90km. The Aso area has a magnificent view of Aso-Gogaku Five Mountains, including meadows and the active volcano, Mt. Naka-Dake. The Kuju Range and Mt. Yufu-Dake offer great views of the Kuju area. The region is famous for its wild azaleas.

Page Top

Photo:Kirishima-Yaku  National Park

Kirishima-Yaku  National Park

Designation: 1934/03/16

Area: 57,084 ha

In the Kirishima area, there are over 20 volcanoes such as Mt. Karakuni, and natural forests formed by oaks, Japanese red pines, etc. at the foot of the mountains. An active volcano and Sakurajima Island are located in the Kinko Bay area. Yakushima Island is famous for Yaku-sugi (Japanese cedars that are over 1,000 years old) such as Jomon-sugi and Daio-sugi. The area is designated as a World Natural Heritage site.

Page Top

Photo:Iriomote National Park

Iriomote National Park

Designation: 1972/05/15

Area: 12,506 ha

This park contains Iriomote Island and other Islands. Roughly 80% of Iriomote Island is covered with subtropical trees, and mangroves can be seen in the estuary of the Nakama River. There are many rare animals on Iriomote Island such as the Iriomote wildcat. There is a coral reef stretching between Taketomi Island and Ishigaki Island creating the largest coral reef in Japan.

Page Top

Page Top