News Headline

In regard to an award ceremony for the Cover Page Competition for the "Annual Report on the Environment, the Sound Material-Cycle Society, and Biodiversity in Japan 2015"

March 19, 2015

We have conducted this event with a hope to stimulate more interest in environmental problems in order to establish a low-carbon society, sound material-cycle society, and biodiversity, as well as to attract more people to join a circle to construct sustainable energetic society. After careful consideration, it is our pleasure to announce the winners of the competition as follows. The winners are invited to attend the award ceremony. The work of winners is going to be printed on the cover and the back cover of the Annual Report on the Environment FY 2015 to be published later next fiscal year.

2. Number of entrants (Nov. 4, 2014 ~ Jan. 30, 2015)
Grade school student's category: 1,014 entrants
General public category (age over high school students): 117 entrants
Total: 1,131 entrants

3. Winners (names listed without honorifics)
(1)Grade school students category
■The Best Award (The Minister of the Environment Award)
Haruo Takaki (Aichi prefecture Chiryu-city Yatsuda elementally school 3rd Grade)

■A Merit Award
Yuga Chiba (Miyagi prefecture Kami Town Kamiishi elementary school 1st grade)

■An Excellent Works
Yuna Goto (Miyagi prefecture Kami Town Kamiishi elementary school 1st grade)
Mummigatti Vachana (India International School)
Yuka Sekiya (Saitama prefecture Tokorozawa city Yanase Junior High School 1st year)
Mirai Ujiie (Miyagi prefecture Kurihara city Kurikoma Junior High School 2nd year)

(2)General public category
■The Best Award (The Minister of the Environment Award)
Tomomi Sakuma (Yoshimura Hanna Watercolor painting school)

■A Merit Award
Natsuki Hamano (Yoshimura Hanna Watercolor painting school)

4. A panel of judges
The Chair:
Kimiko Kozawa (Professor Emerita, Tokyo Gakugei University)
Shigetaka Kokubu (Vice President, National elementary and junior high school environmental education meeting for the study) 
Akio Ikemura (Professor, Entertainment Design, Tokai University)
Yasunari Murakami (Picture book writer)
Masaaki Kobayashi (Director General Environmental Policy Bureau, MOE)

5. Award Ceremony
Date: Wednesday, March 25, 2015 10:30 ~ 11:00
Place: First conference room at Ministry of the Environment
(Central Government Building No.5, 22nd floor)
Attendees: Award winners, the executive members of Ministry of the Environment, and the like.

6. Media
Those who would like to cover the award ceremony are kindly requested to register by 5 p.m. on March 24. Please identify name of company or media, your name, contact number, and still/ENG camera, either by phone at 03-5521-8328 or fax at 03-3581-5951. Make sure to wear an armband and/or media accreditation of your company when covering the ceremony. We appreciate your cooperation and understanding.

For Japanese

Attached File:

Get Adobe Reader

Please download Adobe Reader (for free) to view PDF file.

Page top