# Online Platform Ministerial Meeting: Updated Draft Agenda (as of 3 September 2020)

Thursday, 3 September 2020 | 20:00 to 23:30 JST (13:00 to 16:30 CEST, 07:00-10:30 EDT)

Chair: KOIZUMI Shinjiro, Minister of the Environment, Japan

## 20:00-20:10 Opening:

Opening remarks by

KOIZUMI Shinjiro, Minister of the Environment, Japan
Patricia Espinosa, UNFCCC Executive Secretary

Message from leaders (video message) by
ABE Shinzo, Prime Minister of Japan
António Guterres, UN Secretary-General,

## 20:10-20:55 Session 1: Panel discussion-Redesign of Socio-economy with Three Transitions:

This session is expected to set the tone of this event, which is to address two global crises: COVID-19 and climate change. The three transitions toward decarbonization, circular economy, and decentralization, will be the cornerstone of our recovery from COVID-19, on the way to redesigning our lifestyle and business models to be more sustainable and resilient. In order to foster these transitions, it is necessary to encourage climate policies as well as financial and environmental protection policies.

Facilitator: Andrew Steer, WRI President and CEO

Mark Carney, COP26 Finance Advisor

Panelists: KOIZUMI Shinjiro, Minister of the Environment, Japan
 Vera Songwe, Executive Secretary of United Nations Economic Commission for Africa
 Carlos Manuel Rodriguez, GEF-CEO, former Costa Rican Minister of Environment

and Energy Mary Robinson, representative of The Elders, former President of Ireland

#### 20:55-22:55 Session 2: Ministerial Roundtable: COVID-19 recovery measures and actions

Ministers will exchange information and views on their measures and actions related to climate change and environmental protection as part of their recovery from COVID-19 in several key sectors and areas: energy, transportation, urban planning, adaptation, etc.

Annex 1

10 Ministers will deliver their statements as a lead speaker touching upon these sectors/areas, then followed by intervention by other ministers and vice-ministers.

Session Chair: Selwin Hart, Special Adviser of the UN Secretary-General on Climate Action

Messages by incoming COP26 President (video message)

Key sectors/areas to be covered by lead speakers.

- 1) Strengthening Climate Action and Fostering Ambition:
- 2) Energy (Renewable energy, Hydrogen etc.)
- 3) Transportation
- 4) Urban Planning
- 5) Adaptation (Water, food system etc.)

# 22:55-23:25 Session 3: Panel Discussion- Non-State Actors Interests

Representatives of non-state actors (business, subnational, labour and civil society) are invited to join as panelists to discuss redesigning of socio-economy from stakeholders' perspectives and their roles.

- Facilitator: Mr. Gonzalo Muñoz, High-Level Climate Champion of Chile
- Panelists:

Paul Polman, Co-founder and Chair, IMAGINE; Honorary Chair of International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)

Sharan Burrow, General Secretary of International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC) Kobie Brand, Regional Director: ICLEI Africa

Video messages by Youth\* and Japanese local government will be shown.

\*A relay message of young people in the world, collected by Japan Youth Platform for Sustainability (JYPS)

#### 23:25-23:30 Closing

Closing remarks by

UK Minister for Business, Energy and Clean Growth, Kwasi Kwarteng UNFCCC Executive Secretary, Patricia Espinosa Chair, Minister of the Environment, KOIZUMI Shinjiro

	Speakers List (As of 17:15, 3rd September)						
0 Vide	0 Video Message from COP 26 Presidency Alok Sharma, COP26 President-Designate						
Lead speakers							
С	Country Name	Position	Name	Title			
1 Japa	an _	Minister	KOIZUMI Shinjiro	Minister of the Environment			
2 Chile		Minister	Carolina Schmidt	Minister of Environment			
3 Rwar	nda	Minister	Jeanne d'Arc MUJWAMARIYA	Minister of Environment			
4 Euro	pean Union	Minister	Frans Timmermans(Video)	Executive vice-president of the European Commission in charge of the European green deal			
5 Germ	many	Minister	Svenja Schulze(Video)	Federal Minister for the Environment			
6 China	а	Vice minister	YingMin ZHAO	Vice Minister of Ecology and Environment			
7 Singa	apore	Minister	Grace Fu	Minister for Sustainability and the Environment			
8 Neth	erlands	Minister	Cora Van Nieuwenhuizen	Minister of Infrastructure and Water Management			
9 Mald	lives	Minister	Hussain Rasheed Hassan	Minister of Environment			
Other Participants							
ı	Minister:25						
10 Austi		Minister	Angus Taylor	Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction			
11 Ango	ola	Minister	Adjany Costa	Minister of Culture, Tourism and Environment			
12 Azerl		Minister	Mukhtar Babayev	Minister of Ecology and Natural Resources			
13 Bosn	nia and Herzegovina	Minister	Srebrenka Golic	Minister of physical planning, civil engineering and ecology			
14 Burki		Minister	Batio BASSIERE	Minister of the Environment			
15 Colo	mbia	Minister	Ricardo Lozano Picón	Minister of Environment and Sustainable Development			
16 Cost	a Rica	Minister	Andrea Meza Murillo	Minister of Environment and Energy			
17 Cypr	rus	Minister	Costas Kadis	Minister of Agriculture, Rural Development and Environment			
18 Egyp	ot	Minister	Yassmine Fouad	Minister of Environment			
19 Finla	and	Minister	Krista Mikkonen	Minister of the Environment and Climate Change			
20 Gam	nbia	Minister	Lamin b. Dibba	Minister of environment, climate change and natural resources			
21 Cab	Gabon	Minister	Lee WHITE	Minister of Water , Forests , the Seas , the Environment ,			
				in charge of Climate Change, Sustainable Development Goals and Land Use Plan			
22 Jorda		Minister	Saleh Al-Kharabsheh	Minister of Environment & Acting Minister of Agriculture			
23 Lao I		Minister	Sommad Pholsena	Minister, Natural Resources and Environment			
24 Luxe		Minister	Carole Dieschbourg	Minister for the Environment (TBC)			
25 Mada		Minister	Baomiavotse Vahinala Raharinirina	Minister of Environment			
26 Malta		Minister	Aaron Farrugia	Minister for the Environment, Climate Change and Planning			
27 Mong		Minister	SARANGEREL Davaajantsan	Minister of Environment and Tourism			
28 Moro		Minister	Aziz Rabbah	Minister of Energy, Mines and Environment			
29 Nicai		Minister	Paul Oquist	Minister Private Secretary. Presidency			
30 Pakis		Minister	Amin Aslam Khan Malik	Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Climate Change			
31 Pales		Minister	Jameel Mtoor	Chairman of Environment Quality Authority			
32 Peru		Minister	Kirla Echegaray	Minister of the Environment			
33 Polar		Minister	Michał Kurtyka	Minister of Climate			
34 Spair	n	Minister	Teresa Ribera	Vicepresident for Ecological Transition			

Speakers List (As of 17:15, 3rd September)					
Vice Minister:10					
35 Armenia	Vice minister	Irina Ghaplanyan	Deputy Minister of Environment		
36 Canada	Vice minister	Peter Schiefke	Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Environment and Climate Change		
37 Cuba	Vice minister	Armando Rodríguez Batista	Vice Minister of Science, Technology and Environment		
38 Mexico	Vice minister	Martha Delgado	Viceminister for Multilateral Affairs and Human Rights		
39 Norway	Vice minister	Mathias Fischer, State Secretary	Ministry of Climate and Environment		
40 Romania	Vice minister	Iulian Octavian STANA	Secretary of State, Ministry of Environment, Waters and Forests		
41 Slovakia	Vice minister	Michal Kiča	State Secretary of the Ministry of Environment		
42 Turkey	Vice minister	Mehmet Emin BIRPINAR	Deputy Minister & Climate Envoy		
43 France	Vice minister	Bérangère Abba	Secretary of State for Biodiversity		
44 Saudi Arabia	Vice minister	Khalid Abuleif	Chief Negotiator of Climate Agreements		