

After the accident at Tokyo Electric Power Company (TEPCO)'s Fukushima Daiichi NPS, the Diet enacted the Act on Special Measures Concerning the Handling of Environment Pollution by Radioactive Materials Discharged by the Nuclear Power Station Accident Associated with the Tohoku District - Off the Pacific Ocean Earthquake that Occurred on March 11, 2011 (Act on Special Measures Concerning the Handling of Environment Pollution by Radioactive Materials) in August 2011.

Special Decontamination Areas and Intensive Contamination Survey Areas were designated as areas where decontamination is to be conducted under this Act on Special Measures.

Special Decontamination Areas are areas where the national government directly conducts decontamination work. 11 municipalities in Fukushima Prefecture which were once designated as a Restricted Area or a Deliberate Evacuation Area were designated as Special Decontamination Areas.

Intensive Contamination Survey Areas are areas where municipalities take the initiative in decontamination work, and a total of 104 municipalities in eight prefectures were designated as such. The national government has taken financial measures and technical measures to assist with decontamination work in these municipalities.

Whole area decontamination work was completed in all municipalities designated as Special Decontamination Areas by the end of March 2017. Thereafter, by the end of March 2018, whole area decontamination work was completed in all 100 municipalities in eight prefectures including Intensive Contamination Survey Areas, except for Restricted Areas.

In cases that there are any points where the effects of decontamination are not maintained after the completion of whole area decontamination work, causes are to be ascertained to the extent possible depending on the circumstances of individual points, and follow-up decontamination is to be conducted when it is found necessary by comprehensively taking into consideration the spread of the contamination and the effects and feasibility of decontamination work, in addition to additional exposure doses.

In Special Decontamination Areas, evacuation orders were all lifted by March 4, 2020, for all Habitation Restricted Areas and Preparation Areas for Lift of Evacuation Orders, and the designation as a Special Decontamination Area for Tamura City was removed in March 2022. Additionally, in Intensive Contamination Survey Areas, it was confirmed that radiation doses decreased to below 0.23 μ Sv/h in 30 municipalities by the end of December 2022, and the designation as Intensive Contamination Survey Areas was removed for these municipalities.

Included in this reference material on March 31, 2013 Updated on March 31, 2023