Import Measures by Other Countries

Outline of Lifting and Easing of Food Import Measures by Other Countries and Regions after the TEPCO's Fukushima Daiichi NPS Accident

In response to the accident at TEPCO's Fukushima Daiichi NPS, countries and regions all over the world imposed various measures on imports from Japan. However, as a result of all-out efforts by the government of Japan, such regulatory measures have been lifted or eased (out of the 55 countries and regions that imposed measures, 41 lifted measures, while 14 continue imposing them).

Details of regulatory measures (Number of countries and regions)		Countries and regions
Completely lifted import measures (41)		Canada, Myanmar, Serbia, Chile, Mexico, Peru, Guinea, New Zealand, Colombia, Malaysia, Ecuador, Viet Nam, Iraq, Australia, Thailand, Bolivia, India, Kuwait, Nepal, Iran, Mauritius, Qatar, Ukraine, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Argentina, Turkey, New Caledonia, Brazil, Oman, Bahrain, Congo DR, Brunei, Philippines, Morocco, Egypt, Lebanon, UAE, Israel, Singapore, USA
Continuing import measures (14)	Suspended import of items from some prefectures (5)	Hong Kong, China, Taiwan, South Korea, Macau
	Requests issuance of inspection certificates for items from some or all prefectures (9)	EU , EFTA (Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, Liechtenstein) , UK, French Polynesia, Russia, Indonesia

Note 1) As of October 10, 2021; Classification in accordance with the details of the regulatory measures; Prefectures in Japan and items subject to respective regulatory measures differ by country or region.

Note 2) 27 EU countries and the United Kingdom were counted as one region as they jointly imposed import measures. Number of countries / regions was revised because the UK excluding Northern Ireland adopts measures different from that of EU from 10 Oct 2021.

Note 3) The governments of Thailand and the UAE lifted import measures except for those on some wild animal meat whose export is not allowed due to quarantine or other grounds.

MAFF

In response to the accident at Tokyo Electric Power Company (TEPCO)'s Fukushima Daiichi NPS, countries and regions all over the world imposed various measures on imports from Japan. However, as a result of all-out efforts by the government of Japan, such regulatory measures have been eased or lifted. The number of countries or regions imposing measures has decreased from 55 immediately after the accident to 14.

Included in this reference material on February 28, 2018 Updated on March 31, 2022