Decontamination

Special Decontamination Areas and Intensive Contamination Survey Areas

In line with the Act on Special Measures Concerning the Handling of Environment Pollution by Radioactive Materials enforced in full on January 1, 2012, and the Basic Policy based thereon, decontamination has been carried out. Areas especially necessary from the perspective of protectine human health were orioritized.

Soil, etc. removed through decontamination work is collected, transported to Temporary Storage Sites, and disposed of safely.

Special Decontamination Areas

- OAreas where the national government directly conducts decontamination work; Basically, 11 municipalities* in Fukushima Prefecture which were once designated as a Restricted Area or a Deliberate Evacuation Area are designated.
- OA decontamination plan should be formulated for each Special Decontamination Area, while taking into account respective municipalities' needs, and decontamination should be conducted in line with the plan.
 - * The entire areas of Naraha Town, Tomioka Town, Okuma Town, Futaba Town, Namie Town, Katsurao Village and litate Village, and parts of Tamura City, Minamisoma City, Kawamata Town and Kawauchi Village which were once designated as a Restricted Area or a Deliberate Evacuation Area

Intensive Contamination Survey Areas

- OAreas where municipalities take the initiative in decontamination work; 92 municipalities in eight prefectures* are designated as Intensive Contamination Survey Areas (as of the end of December 2017) from among municipalities including areas where measured ambient dose rates were 0.23 µSv/h or higher.
- OEach municipality should carry out a measurement and survey, formulate a decontamination plan based on the results thereof, and conduct decontamination in line with the plan.
- OThe national government takes financial measures and technical measures to assist these municipalities.
 - * Iwate Prefecture, Miyagi Prefecture, Fukushima Prefecture, Ibaraki Prefecture, Tochigi Prefecture, Gunma Prefecture, Saitama Prefecture and Chiba Prefecture

Prepared based on the website, "Environmental Remediation," of the Ministry of the Environment"

After the accident at Tokyo Electric Power Company (TEPCO)'s Fukushima Daiichi NPS, the Diet enacted the Act on Special Measures Concerning the Handling of Environment Pollution by Radioactive Materials in August 2011.

Special Decontamination Areas and Intensive Contamination Survey Areas were designated as areas where decontamination is to be conducted under this Act on Special Measures. The decontamination has been conducted in these areas in line with the Act and the Basic Policy based thereon. Areas especially necessary from the perspective of protecting human health were prioritized. Soil, etc. removed through decontamination work is collected, transported to Temporary Storage Sites, and disposed of safely.

Special Decontamination Areas are areas where the national government directly conducts decontamination work. 11 municipalities in Fukushima Prefecture which were once designated as a Restricted Area or a Deliberate Evacuation Area are designated. In these areas, a decontamination plan is to be formulated for each area, while taking into account respective municipalities' needs, and decontamination is conducted in line with the plan.

Intensive Contamination Survey Areas are areas where municipalities take the initiative in decontamination work. 92 municipalities in 8 prefectures are designated (as of the end of December 2017) from among municipalities including areas where measured ambient dose rates were 0.23 $\mu Sv/h$ or higher. In these areas, each municipality carries out monitoring, formulates a decontamination plan based on the results thereof, and conducts decontamination in line with the plan. The national government takes financial measures and technical measures to assist these municipalities.

Included in this reference material on March 31, 2013 Updated on February 28, 2018