# **List of Participants**

#### **APFED Members:**

Ryutaro Hashimoto Former Prime Minister of Japan

Vinya Shanthidas Ariyaratne Executive Director, Sarvodaya Shramadana

Movement, Sri Lanka

Neth Barom Vice-Rector, Royal University of Phnom Penh,

Cambodia

Ulambayar Barsbold (on behalf of Mr. Enkhbayar Nambaryn)

Minister for Nature and Environment, Mongolia

James Cecil Cocker Minister of the Environment Department of

Environment, Tonga

Tadao Chino President, Asian Development Bank

Hans van Ginkel Rector, United Nations University

Qu Geping President of China Environmental Protection

Foundation, Former Chairman of Commission for Environment Protection & Resource Conservation, National People's Congress, People's Republic of

China

Cielito Flores Habito Professor of Economics and Director, Ateneo

Center for Economic Research and Development,

Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines

Barbara Rosemary Hardy Former Commissioner of the Australian Heritage

Commission, Australia

Parvez Hassan Former Chairman of the World Conservation Union

(IUCN) Law Commission, Pakistan

Martin Kok Peng Khor Director, Third World Network, Malaysia

Kim Myung Ja Member of the Korean National Assembly, Former

Minister of Environment, Republic of Korea

Reza Maknoon Advisor to the Vice President and the Head of the

Department of the Environment,

Deputy Chairman, National Committee SD, Iran

Biman Chand Prasad (on behalf of Prof. Wadan Lal Narsey)

Associate Professor, Economics Department, The

University of the South Pacific, Fiji

Olga Anatolievna Ponizova Executive Director, Eco-Accord Centre on

Environment & Development, Russia

Emil Salim Chairman, Association for Community

Empowerment, Indonesia

Tongroj Onchan President, the Mekong Environment and Resource

Institute, Thailand

Bulat Kamalbekovich Yessekin Executive Director, the Regional Environmental

Centre for Central Asia

Klaus Töpfer Executive Director, United Nations Environment

Programme

Kim Hak Su Executive Secretary, United Nations Economic and

Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific

Akio Morishima Chair of the Board of Directors, Institute for Global

Environmental Strategies, Japan

Observers:

Yoriko Kawaguchi Special Assistant to the Prime Minister of Japan

Iskakov Nurlan Abdildaevich (on behalf of Ms. Aitkul Sakakova) Vice-Minister

of the Environmental Protection, Republic of

Kazakhstan

Ministry of the Environment, Japan

KOIKE, Yuriko Minister of the Environment of Japan

Seizo Matsumoto Vice-Minister for Global Environmental Affairs

Toshiro Kojima Director-General, Global Environment Bureau

Hikaru Kobayashi Director-General, Environmental Management

Bureau

Kazuhiko Takemoto Deputy Director-General, Global Environment

Bureau

# Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan

Kaoru Ishikawa Director-General, Global Issues Department

#### **Other Participants**

Hironori Hamanaka Professor, Keio University, Japan

Ayush Namkhai Director, Department for Sustainable Development

and Environment, Ministry for Nature and

Environment, Mongolia

Uilow Samani Director of Environment Department, Tonga

# <u>ADB</u>

Yasushi Kanzaki Chief Advisor to the President, Asian Development

Bank

Peter N. King Advisor, Asian Development Bank

Masami Tsuji Environment Specialist, Asian Development Bank

## <u>UNU</u>

Itaru Yasui Vice-Rector, United Nations University

Katsunori Suzuki Senior Visiting Fellow, United Nations University,

Institute of Advanced Studies (UNU/IAS)

#### **UNEP-ROAP**

Surendra Shrestha Regional Director, United Nations Environment

Programme, Regional Office for Asia and the

Pacific

## **UN- ESCAP**

Rae Kwon Chung Director, Environment and Sustainable

Development Division, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific