National Parks of Japan Protecting our natural heritage for future generations

Parks Index: Kyushu

Setonaikai National Park

Setonaikai National Park consists of about 3,000 islets, small and large, and is famous for offering a sweeping view of huge clusters of islands floating in the calm inland sea. One such example of such beauty can be obtained in the view of the Bisan Archipelago as seen from Mt. Washu. Areas of white sandy beaches bordered by green pines, such as those found along the Shibukawa coast and in Keino-Matsubara, as well as terraced fields and other scenes of people living in a state of intimate connection with nature are signature attributes of this park.

Setonaikai National Park
Photo:Setonaikai National Park
  • Designation: March 16, 1934
  • Area: 66,934 ha
  • Prefectures: Hyogo, Wakayama, Okayama, Hiroshima,
    Yamaguchi, Tokushima, Kagawa, Ehime, Fukuoka, Oita

Saikai National Park

Saikai National Park consists of more than 400 islands, large and small, including Hirado, the Kujukushima ("99 Islands") Islands of Sasebo, and the Goto Archipelago. The park is famous for the myriad vistas that can be found among the Kujukushima Islands and the Wakamatsu-Seto Passage. High cliffs dot the islands in the area while Fukue Island is the site of rare volcanic formations.

Saikai National Park
Photo:Saikai National Park
  • Designation: March 16, 1955
  • Area: 24,646 ha
  • Prefecture: Nagasaki

Unzen-Amakusa National Park

Unzen-Amakusa National Park consists of the area surrounding Mt. Unzen-dake in the middle of the Shimabara Peninsula and the islands of Amakusa. The Unzen area is a resort district built around Mt. Fugen-dake, which is famous for volcanic activity that occurred in 1990, and numerous local hot springs. The Amakusa area is celebrated for the beauty of its 120 islands, large and small, in the Ariake and Yatsushiro seas.

Unzen-Amakusa National Park
Photo:Unzen-Amakusa National Park
  • Designation: March 16, 1934
  • Area: 28,279 ha
  • Prefectures: Nagasaki, Kumamoto, Kagoshima

Aso-Kuju National Park

Aso-Kuju National Park is a mountainous park with many volcanoes and the world's largest caldera basin, whose circumference measures approximately 90 kilometers. The Aso area boasts a magnificent view of the Aso-Godake Mountains, grassy plains, and an active volcano in Mt. Naka-dake. The Kuju area commands spectacular vistas of the Kuju Range and Mt. Yufu-dake. The region is famous as a habitat for wild azaleas.

Aso-Kuju National Park
Photo:Aso-Kuju National Park
  • Designation: December 4, 1934
  • Area: 72,678 ha
  • Prefectures: Kumamoto, Oita

Kirishima-Kinkowan National Park

The Kirishima area comprises over twenty volcanoes, including Mt. Karakuni-dake, as well as natural forests of chinquapin, oak, Japanese red pine trees, and more situated at the foot of these mountains. Sakurajima, an active volcano, is a natural landmark of the Kinko Bay area.

Kirishima-Kinkowan National Park
Photo:Kirishima-Kinkowan National Park
  • Designation: March 16, 2012
  • Area: 36,586 ha
  • Prefectures: Miyazaki, Kagoshima

Yakushima National Park

Yakushima is famous as an island habitat of Jomon-sugi, Daio-sugi, and other examples of Yaku-sugi (Japanese cedars that are over 1,000 years old).

Yakushima National Park
Photo:Yakushima National Park
  • Designation: March 16,_2012
  • Area: 24,566 ha
  • Prefectures: Kagoshima

Keramashoto National Park

Kerama Islands is located to 40 km the west of Naha City, consisting of more than 30 small and large islands and a number of rock reefs. The blue of the sea is renowned as "Kerama Blue", and the contrast between the bright blue ocean and the white of the sand beach is fascinating. The rich ecosystems show various coral reefs in the shoal, and humpback whales breeding in the surrounding waters. In fact, Kerama Islands was the first national park that the area was designated as long as 7 km away from the shores for the reason that humpback whales are commonly observed in a wide range of the surrounding ocean.

map:kerama-shoto National Park
Photo:kerama-shoto Netional Park
  • Designation: May 5, 2014
  • Area: 3,520 ha
  • Prefecture: Okinawa

Iriomote-Ishigaki National Park

Iriomote-Ishigaki National Park consists of Iriomote Island, Ishigaki Island, other islands that punctuate the space in between these islands, and the sea. In addition to subtropical forests, the park is home to mangrove trees growing in the estuary of the Nakama River, the Nagura Anparu wetlands, and elsewhere. The Iriomote wildcat and many other rare wild animals found nowhere else call Iriomote Island home. The largest coral reef in Japan lies in the seas between Taketomi Island and Ishigaki Island.

Photo:Iriomote-Ishigaki National Park
Photo:Photo:Iriomote-Ishigaki National Park
  • Designation: May 15, 1972
  • Area: 21,958 ha
  • Prefecture: Okinawa
Page top