National Parks of Japan Protecting our natural heritage for future generations

Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park

Introducing places of interest: Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park

National Park

Mt. Fuji Area

Mt. Fuji Area This area includes Mt. Fuji, Japan's tallest peak, and is considered one of the preeminent tourism destinations in the country. In addition to mountain climbing, visitors can enjoy camping, fishing, and various other leisure pursuits.

Vicinity of Mt. Fuji (Japan's tallest peak)

Vicinity of Mt. Fuji Celebrated as Japan's tallest peak (at 3,776 meters above sea level), Mt. Fuji draws approximately 200,000 people every year to its summit during the mountaineering season in July and August. A total of four mountaineering trails have been built from the Shizuoka and Yamanashi sides of the mountain. Each of these trails offers climbers a unique set of experiences. The Fuji-Goko area is also used year-round for boating, summering, leisurely drives, camping, and a host of other activities.

Official Web Site for Mt.Fuji Climbing
URL: Mt. Fuji climbing

Hakone Area

Hakone Area The site of the tenth post station on the fabled Tokaido Highway, the Hakone Area flourished in days of old as an onsen district. The area has seen an increase in the number of visitors from overseas in recent years.

Hiking information: numerous hiking courses

Hiking information As its geography was formed through extensive volcanic activity, Hakone is the site of numerous older and more recent somma craters and other types of peaks. Since the mountains in this area correspond to relatively low elevations--perhaps due to the effects of intense volcanic activity in the region, there are many mountaineering trails to be found that are ideally suited to novice and intermediate-level climbers. These are popular and used by significant numbers of visitors at all times of the year.

Plants bearing the name of the Hakone region: endemic species of flora

Hakone bara Hakone is home to many plants that bear the name of the Hakone region and that have been designated protected species by the local municipality. Some examples of these species include Tsusiophyllum tanakae Maxim (known in Japanese as Hakone kometsutsuji), Aconitum japonicum var. hakonense, and Aster viscidulus (Makino) Makino (known in Japanese as Hakone giku). Rosa microphylla hirtura (known in Japanese as Hakone bara or sanshobara) has been designated the official flower of Hakone and is the official symbol of the Hakone area.

Wild animals: salamanders living in clear streams

Hakone sanshouo Hakone is also the habitat of the Japanese clawed salamander (known in Japanese as Hakone sanshouo), an endemic species of salamander indigenous to Japan. This species, which can only live in clear mountain streams, has been designated a protected species by the town of Hakone and is also identified as an endangered species in Kanagawa Prefecture's Red Data Book. This matter has become the focus of considerable concern on the part of scientists in recent years.

Izu Peninsula Area

Izu Peninsula Area Much of the coastline and the areas through which mountain-ridge roads have been built in the Izu Peninsula lies within Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park. This area is also referred to as Doro-Koen ("Road Park") due to the exceptionally beautiful scenic views these roads command.

A natural environment with so much to offer

A natural environment The Izu Peninsula is a region where visitors can enjoy both the mountains and the sea. You are invited to climb Mt. Amagi and other local peaks, go swimming in the ocean, engage in scuba diving, explore the vistas of Tsumekizaki and other seacoast areas, and do so much more. Plenty of acclaimed onsen resorts are also located here. Taking an onsen bath in Izu should be an essential part of any trip to this National Park.

Doro-Koen Park: for driving

Doro-Koen Park One of the great joys of visiting the Izu Peninsula area consists of the landscape that can be seen from the road. Park roads built amid a natural landscape that includes Mt. Fuji, the seacoast, and numerous islands constitute a considerable incentive--along with the ease with which the area can be accessed--inducing travelers to arrive at this location in their family automobiles.

Izu Islands Area

Izu Islands Area The Izu Island Chain comprises eight islands--namely, from north to south Oshima, Toshima, Niijima, Shikinejima, Kozushima, Miyakejima, Mikurajima, and Hachijojima--and is also famous as a favored destination of diving enthusiasts.

Natural environment and uses: take advantage of a diverse natural environment

Natural environment and uses With its warm climate, tropical-like natural landscape, points of historical interest, and settings ideally suited to hiking, sea bathing, and other recreational pursuits, the Izu Islands are a popular destination. Many visitors also flock here to spot interesting wild birds and go whale watching. According to surveys conducted by the Ministry of the Environment, the area also accounts for approximately 8 percent of all domestic giant trees and about one half of all domestic pasania trees.

Page top