Implementation Structure

The Japanese Ministry of the Environment draws up the overall JECS plan. The National Institute for Environmental Studies plays a central role as the National Center that coordinates and cooperates with 15 Regional Centers. Regional Centers are composed of universities and medical centers. The National Center for Child Health and Development supports this study from the medical aspect as the Medical Support Center.

To advance the JECS project, networking and building partnerships with the following organizations is critical.

  • Ministry of Health, Labor and Welfare
  • Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology
  • International Organizations (WHO, etc.)
  • Foreign national cohort studies


Regional Centers

The 15 Regional Centers located across Japan.

location map

No. Regional Centers Universities (collaborating research institutes)
1 Hokkaido Hokkaido University,
Sapporo Medical University,
Asahikawa Medical University,
The Japanese Red Cross Hokkaido College of Nursing.
2 Miyagi Tohoku University
3 Fukushima Fukushima Medical University
4 Chiba Chiba University
5 Kanagawa Yokohama City University
6 Koushin University of Yamanashi,
Shinshu University
7 Toyama University of Toyama
8 Aichi Nagoya City University
9 Kyoto Kyoto University,
Doshisha University
10 Osaka Osaka University,
Osaka Medical Center and Research Institute for Maternal and Child Healh
11 Hyogo Hyogo College of Medicine
12 Tottori Tottori University
13 Kochi Kochi University
14 Fukuoka University of Occupational Environmental Health (Sub Regional Center),
Kyushu University (Sub Regional Center)
15 South Kyushu
Kumamoto University,
University of Miyazaki,
University of the Ryukyus (Sub Regional Center)